WAR IN LAGOS! IfeanyiUbah, Nasarawa Battle For Federation Cup Glory



By Adeboye Amosu:


FC IfeanyiUbah and Nasarawa United will seek to win a first Federation Cup title when both teams clash in the final of the competition at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos on Sunday, reports Completesportsnigeria.com.

It is the first time both teams will be playing in the final of the oldest football competition in the country.

Aside from the trophy, also at stake is the CAF Confederation Cup ticket which they are eager to grab.

Both sides have met only once in this competition in the past with Nasarawa  1-0 in the quarter-final of the competition last year.

They also met twice in the Nigeria Professional League in the 2015/2016 season.

FC IfeanyiUbah won the first tie 1-0, while the Solid Miners edged the reverse fixture 4-2.

The Anambra Warriors head into game as pundits' favourites, having enjoyed a more successful campaign in the NPFL but Nasarawa United centre-back, Samson Gbadebo insists they are  confident of winning the trophy.

"We have worked so hard to get to this stage of the competition and nothing will stop us from taking the trophy back to Lafia," explained the defender who was part of the Lobi Stars side that lost in the final of competition to Akwa United last year.

"I don't see FC IfeanyiUbah as favourites as we have played against them twice this season and no their worth and quality.

"It's going to be 11 players versus 11 on Sunday and I'm sure we will beat them at the end of the day."

Nasarawa United beat Enyimba 1-0 in the semi-final, while FC IfeanyiUbah beat Crown FC 2-1 to reach the final.






1942: ZAC Bombers 1-0 Services FC

1943: Lagos Marine         3-2 RAF FC

1944: Lagos Railways      2-0 Lagos Marine

1945: Lagos Railways      1-1 Lagos United

*Railway won 4-1 on penalty shootout


1945: Marine FC 1-0 Corinthians

1946: Lagos Railways      3-1 Port Harcourt FC

1947: Lagos Marine         3-1 Lagos Railways

1948: Lagos Railways      1-0 Warri XI

1949: Lagos Railways      3-0 Port Harcourt FC

1950: Lagos UAC 3-2 Port Harcourt FC

1951: Lagos Railways      3-2 Mighty Jets

1952: PAN Bank 6-0 Warri XI

1953: Kano XI 2-1 Lagos Dynamos


1954: Calabar XI 3-0 Kano XI

1955: Port Harcourt FC 4-1 Warri XI

1956: Lagos Railways      3-1 Warri XI

1957: Lagos Railways      5-1 Zaria XI

1958: Port Harcourt FC 6-0 Federal United

1959: Ibadan Lions 1-0 Police FC


1960: Lagos ECN 5-2 Ibadan Lions

1961: Ibadan Lions 1-0 Lagos UAC

1962: Police FC 1-0 Mighty Jets

1963: Port Harcourt FC 1-0 Mighty Jets

1964: Lagos Railways      3-1 Mighty Jets

Read Also:  Wenger Thumbs Up 'Dynamic' Arsenal's Performance Against Southampton

1965: Lagos ECN 3-1 Mighty Jets

1966: Ibadan Lions W/O Mighty Jets

1967: Stationery Stores 3-1 Mighty Jets

1968: Stationery Stores 3-1 Warri XI

1969: Ibadan Lions 5-1 Warri XI

1970: Lagos ECN 3-1 Mighty Jets

1971: WNDC Ibadan 2-1 Enugu Rangers

1972: Bendel Insurance 3-2 Mighty Jets

1973: No competition, as a result of 2nd of All-Africa Games

1974: Enugu Rangers 2-0 Mighty Jets

1975: Enugu Rangers 1-0 Shooting Stars

1976: Enugu Rangers 2-0 Alyufsalam Rocks

1977: Shooting Stars 2-0 Raccah Rovers

1978: Bendel Insurance 3-0 Enugu Rangers

1979: Shooting Stars 2-0 Sharks FC

1980: Bendel Insurance 1-0 Stationery Stores

1981: Enugu Rangers 2-0 Bendel Insurance

1982: Stationery Stores 4-1 Niger Tornadoes

: Enugu Rangers 0-0 DIC Bees

*Rangers won 5-4 on penalty shootout

1984: Leventis United 1-0 Abiola Babes

1985: Abiola Babes 0-0 BCC Lions

*Abiola Babes won 6 – 5 on penalty shootout

1986: Leventis United 1-0 Abiola Babes

1987: Abiola Babes 1-1 Ranchers Bees

*Abiola Babes won 7-6 on penalty shootout

1988: Iwuanyanwu Nationale 3-0 Flash Flamingoes

1989: BCC Lions 1-0 Iwuanyanwu Nationale

1990: Stationery Stores 0-0 Enugu Rangers

*Stores won 5-4 on penalty shootout

1991: El-Kanemi Warriors 3-2 Kano Pillars F.C.

1992: El-Kanemi Warriors 1-0 Stationery Stores

1993: BCC Lions 1-0 Plateau United

1994: BCC Lions 1-0 Julius Berger FC

1995: Shooting Stars 2-0 Katsina United

1996: Julius Berger 1-0 Katsina United

1997: BCC Lions 1-0 Katsina United

1998: Wikki Tourists 0-0 Plateau United

1999: Plateau United 1-0 Iwuanyanwu Nationale

2000: Tornadoes FC 1-0 Enugu Rangers

2001: Dolphins FC 2-0 El-Kanemi Warriors

2002: Julius Berger FC 3-0 Yobe Stars

2003: Lobi Stars 2-0       Sharks FC

2004: Dolphins FC 1-0 Enugu Rangers

2005: Enyimba FC 1-1 Lobi Stars

*Enyimba won 6-5 on penalty shootout

2006: Dolphins FC 2-2 Bendel Insurance

*Dolphins won 5-3 on penalty shootout

2007: Dolphins FC 1-1 Enugu Rangers

* Dolphins won 3-2 on penalty shootout

2008: Ocean Boys 2-2 Gombe United

* Ocean Boys won 7-6 on penalty shootout

2009: Enyimba FC 1-0 Sharks FC

2010: Kaduna United 3-3 Enyimba FC

* Kaduna United won 3-2 on penalty shootout

2011: Heartland FC 1-0 Enyimba FC

2012: Heartland FC               2-1 Lobi Stars

2013 Enyimba FC 2-2 Warri Wolves

*Enyimba won 5-4 on penalty shootout

2014: Enyimba FC 2 Dolphins FC 1

2015: Akwa United 2 Lobi Stars 1

2016: ?????????????…….

With 1xBet you get High Odds, Fast Payouts, Wide Selection of Sports Events, Online Streaming and Huge Bonuses... sign up now.

Are you bored all the time? Don't dull; Download awesome games on your mobile today...

Attention: 3 Friuts you Neglect but Will Help You Fight Against Premature Ejaculation, Weak Erection and Small Blokos. Take Action Here

Uncover how I make $400 weekly on Facebook using never been revealed Social Media tools.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *