Gayle Skips West Indies’ Subcontinental Tour

Gayle Skips West Indies’ Subcontinental Tour

Chris Gayle will skip the West Indies’ limited-overs series in India and Bangladesh but Darren Bravo and Kieron Pollard return.

Top-order batsman Bravo returns to the West Indies side after a two-year gap for the three Twenty20 Internationals in India.

All-rounder Pollard will also return to the side after a year out to join the Twenty20 team for the three-match series beginning in Kolkata on November 4.

But Jamaican superstar Gayle, currently busy with the Afghanistan Premier League, will be missing for the tour.


“We will be without our stalwart, Chris Gayle, for this Indian tour and the next tour against Bangladesh as he has declined selection at this time,” said chairman of selectors Courtney Browne.

“However, he has made himself available for the selection for the visit of England to the Caribbean and the CWC (Cricket World Cup) in 2019.”

All-rounder Andre Russell was also included in the Twenty20 squad to be led by Carlos Brathwaite although he will skip the one-day series preceding the T20 matches because of an injury.

ODI squad: Jason Holder (captain), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas.

T20 squad: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas.

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.