fbpx

WHAT IS YOUR OPINION ON KESHI’S RECALL ON THE INSTANCE OF PRESIDENT JONATHAN?

WHAT IS YOUR OPINION ON KESHI’S RECALL ON THE INSTANCE OF PRESIDENT JONATHAN?

Super Eagles coach Stephen Keshi has been recalled back to the Nigerian national team after a hiatus.

Keshi was relieved of his duties by the Nigeria Football Federation following Nigeria’s poor performances and results in the 2015 African Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The NFF announced the appointment of Amodu Shuaibu as interim coach of the Eagles who will work with a consortium of home-based coaches.

However President Goodluck Jonathan ordered the reinstatement of Keshi during his peace talks with the NFF President Amaju Pinnick and factional FA boss, Chris Giwa.

Keshi’s comeback is understood to be part of the truce which will avert a FIFA ban that would have taken place on Friday 31 October 2014.

The aggrieved Giwa opted to take his case out of the Jos High Court which duly ensured FIFA did not strike after 12 noon on Friday.

Now, with the return of Keshi and interestingly, his recall of Villarreal of Spain striker, Ikechukwu Uche to the Super Eagles, how do you see Keshi performing in Nigeria’s remaining two games in the AFCON qualifiers?

Do you support Keshi’s return or do you think Amodu should have taken the Eagles job on an interim basis?

Send in your views and opinions on this topic using the “Leave a Reply” field at the lower part of this page. Please, provide your authentic email address in the required field before posting your comment. Your comment will show here in few minutes after the moderator has approved it.

<script async src=”//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js”></script> <!– 300×250, created 11/8/11 –> <ins class=”adsbygoogle” style=”display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px” data-ad-client=”ca-pub-9452882342138416″ data-ad-slot=”0923930052″></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>

COMMENTS

WORDPRESS: 47
  • Michael Nwafor 4 years ago

    In the interest of Football-loving Nigerians, I support both the reconciliatory overture and the recall of the erstwhile Head football coach.More lasting,concrete and ‘permanent measures’ should be
    Put into the Administration and overall efficacious ‘running’ of ALL things Football,and Sports in general throughout the Nation.

  • Ovie sag omuta 4 years ago

    This is the best option the NFF has ever taken. I love it so much, keshi is very good. May God bless d pson dat took these decision

  • alimamarcus 4 years ago

    I think the return of Stephen keshi is a good development, so that he can continue from where he stop and the country will assess him after the qualifier.

  • Favour Uche favour 4 years ago

    Pls Keshi should step down & let Amodu to continue. Stephen Keshi does not listen & never taken the right players,Ikechukwu Uche,martins,Obasi, hienacho these are top players. The players will work against him if time is not taken,I wish him good luck with his top connections, Canada base fan

    • The recalled of keshi as a coach, its just rubbish because he behave as its his personal team and also lack wisdom. The players that we need in the team are; uche, martins, iheanacho, obasi etc

  • papafem 4 years ago

    Whoever brought Keshi back has not done our football any good. It’s evidently clear that he has lost the respect of many of his players. The courageous ones among them have spoken against him in the public. Those who are not that bold have continued grumble underground, offering press interviews without giving their names to condemn his tactics and style of management. There is a conspiracy against Keshi in that team and it showed in the matches against Congo and Sudan. There is no way Keshi will enjoy a smooth relationship with the present NFF board with the way he was forced on them. It will give Keshi the license to be arrogant to his employers since he knows there are people at the top to fight for him. Our Super Eagles will definitely suffer for this. So many players this guy is overlooking should form the bedrock of our national team in fe years time. I’m sad, very sad because Keshi will never change and such is not good for our football.

  • samuel 4 years ago

    In fact I don’t know what is even wrong with Nigeria in general, how can Mr President impose Keshi on NFF? Should I say that President Jonathan is blind to see that Keshi is not a good coach? Keshi that played almost 13 games and managed to win one match? They should have just leave Amodu to finish the job, anyway another doom and heart break is coming to all Nigerian soon mark my word down. I rest my case till then..

    • isn’t that government interference?

    • SoccerInNigeria 4 years ago

      @samuel

      Mr Jonathan is not a football expect. Most likely he is acting on the recommendation of Sports Minister Danagogo. Only Mr Danagogo knows what exactly he sees in Keshi that he wants to impose Keshi on the NFF and Nigerian supporters. Something some where is not right, but time will reveal all these backroom deals very soon. I wish Nigeria well in that make or brake game in Congo.

      From a footballing point of view Keshi cannot deliver the required result in Congo. The current congo team is tactically Superior to Keshi’s Team as demostrated in Calabar. Keshi has never won an away game against serious opposition, and he has never won an away game by more than one goal. Keshi’s 2 qualifying game away victories is 1-0 vs Kenya and 2-1 vs Ethiopia. Keshi could not get Away victories against footballing small countries like Sudan, Malawi, Namibia, Rwanda, Liberia ETC and Danagogo really believes Keshi will beat Congo by a 2 goal margin in Congo?

      The whole situation is a joke. But as a Nigerian I wish the team well in Congo.

      • chuks 4 years ago

        Result Result Result is what you want abi? No coach will ever get it with a football house (management team) that is in disarray. A football house in which there are gangs fighting one another. If Keshi can survive all these intrigues and achieve an enviable record within 3yrs then under a good atmosphere he will surpass such record.
        On Keshi we stand. Jonathan advisers were 100% right.
        Clemence Westerhoof achieved this same in 4-6yrs simply because of presidential intervention during his tenure. He ignores NFF and go to the presidency for whatever he wants (I know you do not know history) . This was because he knew that those managing our football are nothing but fools. He got the result he wanted which is highest result so far in the history of Nigerian football ( Keshi achieved same in less time (3yrs) than him). I thank God Keshi is toeing the same line and sky is his limit. I don’t care if fails to qualify to next year nations cup. If he fails its not his fault.

  • Sunday 4 years ago

    The scenario of everything Nigerian is ridiculous and mockery. What parameter/yardstick permits Keshi’s return as coach under two weeks of his sack. Almighty Brazil took great Pele to the world cup at just 17yrs of age,Neima was in the last world cup as an under 20 years old player even Norway caps and play a 15 years old boy,what is wrong with Ihenacho from Keshi’s own angle? for ME NIGERIA will never improve under Keshi. Where are the core boys that won the nations cup? Haba , i don’t want to mention names.keshi has shot himself in the foot.I thought he said he would never invite or play Ike Uche in his team.There is problem o o o.I lost interest in the super eagle when i started seeing players from China in our national team and players that draws accolades in their european clubs are rejected. I fear nobody on this matter,even oga at the top. DOOm LOoms mARK My words,

    • chuks 4 years ago

      The parameters are many, let me give you some: Firstly, he was wrongly sacked. The decision to sack him was the most unreasonable, ridiculous, and childish 2. He is the 14th best national team coach in the world. 3. He has equaled the best ever record in the history of Nigerian football in less time. 4. He won the Nations cup gold medal. 5. He won CHAN bronze medal. 6. he qualified Nigeria to world cup. 7. He took Nigeria super eagles to second round of world cup. 8. He is the second African to win nations cup as a captain and as a coach.

      Nigeria is not Brazil. Keshi invited Iheanacho to camp for CHAN tournament preparation but his father pulled him out. What do you expect Keshi to do? The boy is underage and still under the control of his father. In Manchester city, Iheanacho does not play for the senior team. He still play for the Junior city team. So keshi was right. At the right time, he will play for the eagle.

      That Keshi said he will never invite Uche only exist in your head. He never said so. In your warped thinking, talents are not found in China.

      With Keshi, we dey kamkpe!

  • stanslink 4 years ago

    FIFA must rewrite that part of their law that says there should be no government interference, to read “there must be no type of government interference that is unacceptable to the incumbent officials of a country’s Football Federation, period”. What Jonathan just did, regardless of his reasons for doing it is much more than government interference. It is both government interference, personal interference and ignorant interference. He has no adviser that have the slightest clue about football matters, and that sucks; as big of a footballing nation as Nigeria is (even though Keshi does not think Nigeria is).

    Do I think Amodu would have been better in handling the last two games? YES! Everything is political though. Amodu’s last letter to NFF was not an after thought as it was made to seem. It was the inside info he got that Mr. President is about asking for keshi’s reinstatement that made him write that last letter of appeal to NFF President. Infact, it was all planned to come out like that. Goodluck to them all, politrictians.

  • Johnny Pan 4 years ago

    Bringing Keshi back is an inverted progress for Nigerian football because he has reached his limit after using over 200 different players in his so called rebuilding saga. He is sentimental in his selection pattern with a hidden agenda.He shut the doors of Eagles camp to good and talented players like Lukman Haruna,Joel Obi, David Alaba, Emenalo,now Bright Dike,Leon Balogun, Sunday Mba and of late Victor Moses. Nigeria should forget AFCON 2015 because i don’t see Nigeria beating Congo away with the crop of journey men players apart from a few of them he invited

  • OSKIDO 4 years ago

    Keshi is just lucky to won the last africa cup of nation becasue all the teams was not focusing on super eagle. if you ask me , i will boldly tell you that i am a better coach than keshi, keshi is like mikel, both of them fail to understand and admit their weakness even when the re-watch all the games they losses. anyone who refuse correction always live to fail again and again. keshi have no 1st eleven uptil now. he is on try and error method. it is very simple , with the caliber of players we have, if i am opportune to manager super eagle for the 2 remaining qualify match, i am going to win the 2 match with more entertaining and countless goals. my game plan, no Mikel in my squad, every player will become a striker and go for goal and every player will be a defender and defend from conceiving goal, with my plan expect at least 5goal from each match and i bet my life

  • ODUNBUN MARTINS OLUWASEGUN 4 years ago

    Invviting Steven Keshi back to supper eagle is a doom to Nigeria football, because he lack the experience to andle a team like supper eagles . Keshi did not have any pattern of football and he is just building on his past glory. I did not know when Mr president became a footballer? and he did not watch any supper eagle matcch to sre the wrong tactics . I think it is better to leave coach Amodu for the job.

  • David 4 years ago

    Why are you bringing that animal back to the Super eagles? Where is Sunday Mba, in-form Obafemi Martins, sensational Iheanacho, Effective Osaze, Skillful Lukman Haruna and other valuable plaayers we can boast of. I WILL NEVER EVER WITH ALL Y FRIENDS VOTE FOR GOODLUCK JONATHAN BECAUSE OF THESE WICKED ACT. That is a deliberate Injury to the development of our football.

    • since it has already happened in this way, we need players like; martins, iheanacho, lukman haruna, obasi, osaze and others in the team.

  • chiffo 4 years ago

    Jonathan hires Keshi but Leroy fires him
    Congo 2:1 Nigeria.
    chikina magana yakari.

  • The recall of keshi migth not be good,but sacking him at that stage is not a wise decision for football.we clamour for martins in the team and forgot that martins has already follow a step of the retires let remember what took jj okocha from national team.their some league that when you play their is a sign that you are old and not worhty to be call for a battle.none is without a mistake.sunday imba might not be inform while the so call ik uche. Might be a very individual player.i pray that nigeria qualify.team that that plays the last macth can qualify,i beliave.shalom!

  • Keshi is. Surpose to finish. D remaining two matches before he he can be sacked we. Know he does not take corrections. But let. Him just finish d last 2 Games if. He qualifies us. Or not so dat at. D end nigerians. Wil. Know what to do. Wit him

  • CALLING KESHI BACK AT THIS TIME IS THE BEST DECISION FOR NOW .THE SECOND STEP TO TAKE NOW IS TO FIND
    OUT THE REASON FOR THE POOR PERFORMANCE ,THEN RESTORE WHAT IT WILL REQUIRE TO BOOST HIS PERFOREMANCE.

  • May God bless u jonathan for bring keshi back as supe eagle coach because in 2013 victorious goes poor in starting match but later he maintain it by bring nation cup for nigeria nd what am seeing about is that he used be serious after losing fist round and this is time for him to make nigeria happy by winning remaining to match now.And I hope he will winning the remain game.let all those pple that are. Saying bad about him stop nd watch keshi the remain ok.stop stop saying bad against the young man that doing his jop.

  • Its a very Good Move to call Back Stephen Okechukwu Keshi. Let him continue, and well done Mr President Jonathan.

  • Edward Simple 4 years ago

    Keshi’s record remain the best of all to have coached our national team except Westerhof who is at par with him. Fans who do not follow history rant about Keshi without knowing that those at the NFF gain much when our national teams fail. They keep changin coaches without changin themselves. Only coaches like Keshi n Westerhof can make it under these men.

  • Daniel . C 4 years ago

    Keshi should have been interogated @d reasons why he refuses to invite the best leg to the super eagles team and also why he has been inposing enemity forgotten that Nigerian football is not a private business… If keshi refuse once again to invite players like iheanacho, haruna moses, balogun, uche, and martins to the squad that will face congo and SA respectively for remaining do or die matches, I think dt means his motive is to lead Nigeria football to undue failure and should suspended entire as a Nigerian coach..

  • tony ajie 4 years ago

    Keshi is a sad news and he and Minister of Sports have concocted this crisis so he can keep his job. He has no confidence of players, and they do not trust him. The Nigerian fans do not trust either. He is using South South connection to destroy Nigeria. See where he has taken Nigeria on FIFA ranking. President Jonathan will pay a political price because of Keshi. This is a coach that thinks that unknown players in the Chinese and Norwegian leagues are better than Victor Moses who has led the revival at Stoke FC and one of the best players in MLS league, Obafemi Martins. This is a charade and Nigeria is really in trouble to have people with the sentiments like President Jonathan and the novice that is the Minister of Sports in charge.

  • hmmm bringing keshi back is a disaster. wat consine bad luck jona wit football. mstw

  • Polycarp.o 4 years ago

    Regurgitation is 4 ruminant but nff has acted like a ruminant.it is a good riddance to bad rubbish.it is a sacrosanct to bring back keshi who sacrificed meritocracy and hard work on the altar of favouritism and get rich quick mentality in team selection.jonathan has committed a treasonable felony interfering in soccer matters when innocent chibok cries is chasing people out of sambisa.

  • Good decision by Mr president,sacking Keshi was wrong decision in first instant,I want everybody to realized that if Amodu fail in the remaining two matches,he will claimed Keshi had alredy done the damaged, let Keshi finish what he had started.

  • Stephen Elechi 4 years ago

    Please follow Nigerian lets the man continues his job he will make because he has done it before,which him a good luck as good luck has which him

  • Cape Town boy 4 years ago

    Yes im 100% in support of the decision taken by NFF to recall keshi to handle the national side he has experience and have achieved a lot since he took over the national team . let NFF give him all the support he needs and allow the man freedom to make his decision and choose whosoever he belive can deliver for the country

  • doluv 4 years ago

    keshi lucky coach with no tactics hehehe.! it good let him finished what he started. inexperience kate

  • chukwuma 4 years ago

    keshi is a good coach but he need 2 call back the forien player wel i tink he deserve a second chance 2 correct d mistake

  • I was d most happiest person when i held Keshi has been sacked. Do u kno y? B/c he is full of nufogiving spirit, pride and very arogant in nature. He forgot d saying, that say’s pride goes b/4 distruction . That is what he is facing now.

  • Ayonote dokpesi 4 years ago

    It’s a good thing he should be allowed to carry on untill the afcon 2015 is over then they can now decide what action yo take and keshi him self should try and live up to expetation

  • Sanusi Alao 4 years ago

    The recall of Stephen Keshi as the super eagles coach is a wrong football calculation. Based on the opinion pools, it is now glaring that keshi will eventually crash out. He is just too sentimental in his selection. More so, he has a hidden agenda. During Westerhorf era, Nigerians enjoyed good artistry football. Can you compare the way super eagles play football now to the time of J J Okocha , Finidi George, Sunday Oliseh, Mutiu Adepoju (The headmaster) just to mention but few. Keshi, heed to the word of wisdom, resign voluntarily before it will be too late. If you fail to listen, you are going to destroy the brilliant record you have set. I don’t think we can make it to the next AFCON 2015 unless if CAF desides to play politics because they know that Nigeria is a football nation. God bless Nigeria.

  • We Nigerians should learn to accommodate challenges and look for possible solution . Is not always rosy, sometime times are tested we need to be patience and learn from mistakes. Keshi is human like every other person, if he has fail to live upto expectation at a certain point, it does not mean that he is not good or should be crucified. He needs our prayers and support to succeed. To Keshi, i do not know if it is true some of the aligation leveled against you that you hardly forgive wrong doings , i want to use this medium to please let you know that forgiveness is a good attribute of a leader to succeed. Just know that we are prone to mistakes always have the ready heart to forgive. I believe that there are rooms for improvement, wishing you well as you prosecute the remaining two games.

  • AGBO ISAAC O. 4 years ago

    keshi come back is a good development, so that he can complete what he started. You may be suprised that if Amodu were allowed to do the job he could have failed and the blame will be on keshi whom he took over from. I believe all this tossle should be a lesson to stephen keshi.

  • atime i think he need to satify the intrest of we fan.i think is ok coming to coach our darling super eagle.

  • bobby ogie 4 years ago

    the return of keshi has nothing to with his abilities/capabilities….if the technical department had recommended and recalled him,it would have been a different ball game,but for the president to impose him on nff shows politics is order of the day in nigeria………the whole is privy to keshi’s arrogance…are we now saying that he is bigger than his employers nff?….even a kid can see that keshi may probably be behind dis giwa-nff brouhaha…didn’t he say he had jobs waiting for him? moreover,people in positions of authority in Nigeria have no sense of morality and integrity…so he will,of course,accept d job…whether he qualifies nigeria or not,it’s his business…there is nothing new under the sun of nigeria football….thank God we have our girls and age-grade boys to console us ….keshi,nff,giwa,and even jonah can all go and ‘Pack well”

  • Emmanuel Otoni 4 years ago

    To be frank, Keshi has reached his peak and it is quite unfortunate that Nigeria CANNOT make it.
    He does not have the technical knowhow that can change the tide in favour of the super eagles.

  • i thnk is a gud destn
    i gat angry the day that i had about keshi
    he has already show hs best
    is a game u will play loss o drow, u can fall at any time
    i thnk is a gud thnking
    every body knw keshi
    and he’s performin doing a great job, thank

  • the problem here is not the matter of changing Keshi or bringing Amodu in or any other coach for the job..
    what Nigerian need is a good person to do the job , and the biggest problems we all known for long is the problem of all this so call godfather and the some of the minster,s that bring in there boys to the team and they dont let the coach to job ……….
    any coach that the job is giving to should try and bring the right players to the team ,not the one that does not even play games in there clubs or play in some country,s that know body watch or see the games there play ……coach should stop taking money from players ………if NFA or who every that gives the coaching job out for any one they should leave the person to do this work not pusching him around and telling him how to do this jos job because giving the job out to any one they see that the person is ok for the job ,so stop talking or telling any coach what they most do ..leave the person to do this job the way he knows how to do it ….And if is not doing it well than look for other person for the job ……….And most important THING is if Nigeria want to take a foreigner coach we should take a first class coach not all those one no body know where the are coming from or where they did there coaching before………thank you ………

  • Pastor Olaniyan 4 years ago

    Sacking of Keshi is in the interest of majority of Nigeria,not that we hated him but he refused to choose most of our best players on the field on filmsy accusation levelled against them.it is rather unfair for presidency by recalling him back because he cannot change.

  • ezeson 4 years ago

    Am tired of Nigerian football stories all the time….. Its even better to desolve everything about 9ja football…..Mtcheew

  • chibuzormicheal 4 years ago

    it is a very gud n mavelous idea to bring him coach back because of his ablitiy n capabiltiy to make us won many cup and we are prayin dat he wil lead us to a higher level by d lord grace amen